You are here:

Special Thanks for The Way of Water


The Way of Water was developed at the 2011 Winter Writers Retreat and the 2012 Studio Retreat at the Lark. It received multiple readings at venues across the US and abroad spring of 2012 as a NoPassport theatre alliance international reading scheme. Dramaturges: Heather Helinsky and R. Alex Davis.

Special thanks:

The Earth Institute brings together the people and tools needed to address some of the world's most difficult problems, from climate change and environmental degradation, to poverty, disease and the sustainable use of resources.The Institute, under the direction of Professor Jeffrey D. Sachs comprises more than 30 research centers and some 850 scientists, postdoctoral fellows, staff and students. Working across many disciplines, we study and create solutions for problems in public health, poverty, energy, ecosystems, climate, natural hazards and urbanization. Website:

Waterkeeper Alliance is an environmental organization founded in 1999, responding to a growing movement of organizations with the name Riverkeeper, Baykeeper, Soundkeeper, and other related "keeper" names, of which there are over 150 around the globe. Waterkeeper Alliance, which is based out of New York, NY unites all Waterkeeper organizations, coordinating and covering issues affecting 197 Waterkeepers that work to protect rivers, lakes, bays, sounds, and other water bodies around the world. It's the fastest growing grassroots environmental movement in the world, spanning six continents. Waterkeeper Alliance has several member organization working on the front line of cleanup and recovery efforts following the April 2010 BP oil disaster in the Gulf of Mexico. Waterkeepers on scene along the Gulf Coast include Apalachicola Riverkeeper and Emerald Coastkeeper in Florida; Mobile Baykeeper in Alabama; Atchafalaya Basinkeeper, Louisiana Bayoukeeper and Lower Mississippi Riverkeeper in Louisiana; and Galveston Baykeeper in Texas. These Gulf Waterkeepers have engaged volunteers, marine biologists, environmental advocates, and members of affected local communities in their cleanup and recovery efforts. Waterkeeper Alliance created the Save Our Gulf campaign and to coordinate Waterkeeper efforts along the Gulf Coast. Robert F. Kennedy. Jr. serves as President of Waterkeeper Alliance's Board of Directors. Karl Koplan and Joe Payne (Casco Baykeeper) serve respectively as Board Chair and Vice Chair. The organization's Executive Director is Marc Yaggi. Website:

Individual thanks to Platform London (, Tony Adams, Justin Bloom, Polly Carl and Howlround, Tim Crone, Tara DePorte and the Human Impacts Institute, Abigail Feinberg and Quentin Pharr (photography), Emily Feinberg, Catherine Gropper, Andrew Horwitz, Julianne Lutz-Warren, Christiana Peppard, Lisa Phillips, JT Rogers, Maria Sotero, Josh Tickell, Professor Eugene Turner, Naomi Wallace, Charlotte Wells (Galveston Waterkeeper), Dana Whitco, Rob Weiner-Kendt and American Theatre, and Positive Feedback.

Thanks to participating Theatres and Universities in the NoPassport theatre alliance THE WAY OF WATER international reading scheme: Alameda Theatre, Toronto; American Stage Theatre Company, St. Petersburg; Atomic Age theater and Emerson college, Boston; Bootleg Theatre, Los Angeles, CA; EAST LA REP, Los Angeles; Ensemble Studio Theatre, New York City; English Theatre Berlin, Germany; Eugene O'Neill National Theatre Institute, Waterford; Firehouse Theatre, Richmond, VA; Frank Theatre, Minneapolis, MN; ion theatre company, San Diego; Lark Play Development Centre, New York City; Lookingglass Theatre, Chicago, IL; Main Street Theatre, Houston; Mile Square Theatre in collaboration with Rutgers University-New Brunswick, NJ; Cia Matilde Theatre, Sao Paolo, Brasil; Metro Nashville Parks Theatre; Missouri Playwrights Workshop, Columbia; Occupy Ashland, Oregon; Opera del Espacio, Los Angeles; Pat the Dog Playwrights Centre, Ontario; Rosemary Branch Theatre, London, UK; Scriptworks in collaboration with Hyde Park Theatre, Austin; Teatro Paraguas, Santa Fe; Vortex Theatre, Albuquerque; and Aberystwyth University, Wales, UK; and Ball State University, Barnard College, Bowling Green State University, California Institute of the Arts; Cal State-LA; Carnegie Mellon University, Cia de Matilde, Sao Paolo, Brasil; Cornell University's TeatroTaller and Theatre Incognita, Ithaca, NY; Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Macalester College, Minneapolis, Ohio State University, Ramapo College, University of Alabama-Birmingham, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, University of California-Davis EDGE Festival, University of California-Los Angeles; University of Connecticut Dept. of Dramatic Arts; University of Glasgow, Scotland; University of Pretoria, South Africa; University of Massachusetts-Amherst, University of Richmond, VA; University of Scranton, PA; University of South Florida, Tampa; University of Tasmania, Australia; University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada; Vassar College, Wheaton College, MA;.